sunrise in nagarkot

Wednesday, January 23:   Someone is pounding on my door and yelling,  “Sunrise!  Sunrise!”  Although I had no intention of getting up at sunrise this morning, I am now wide awake in my dark icy room.  I know I won’t be able to go back to sleep since I’m suddenly feeling the cold in my bones, so I figure I may as well get up and see what all the fuss is about.  The way I see it is that I already saw sunrise over the Annapurna Range in Pokhara, and then I saw sunset over the Langtang Range here last night.  It’s my vacation, after all, and I would really just love to sleep.

But, I drag myself out of bed, grabbing all the warm clothes I can find, and climb to the top tower of Hotel View Point with the scores of Chinese.  I find myself jostling with them for the perfect view of the Himalayas.  I am pleasantly surprised that the mountains are not draped in clouds as they were last night, so we have a clear view of the snow-covered peaks.

Here’s what I can see when I can push my way in front of the hordes of Chinese.

Sunrise at Nagarkot

Sunrise at Nagarkot

sunrise on the Langtang Range

sunrise on the Langtang Range

sunrise!

sunrise!

Langtang sunrise

Langtang sunrise

early risers on a lower platform

early risers on a lower platform

sunlight on the mountaintops

sunlight on the mountaintops

getting brighter

getting brighter

breakfast time!

breakfast time!

the mountains in full daylight  :-)

the mountains in full daylight 🙂

the hotel and the mountains

the hotel and the mountains

Hotel View Point

Hotel View Point

Terrace on Hotel View Point

Terrace on Hotel View Point

the balcony outside of my room

the balcony outside of my room

After breakfast, I pack up my backpack and head out for a 10 km hike down to Changu Narayan. 🙂

4 comments on “sunrise in nagarkot

  1. Gorgeous!! Love looking at and reading your blog when I am sick of marking! It transports me to a magical place, I can feel ad smell the cold air as I look at these magical photos, remembering it like it was yesterday and still smelling the incense that permeates the air after puja in the mornings!! A hot cup of sweet, milky chai….oh yes, I have to get back to Nepal very soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

