pokhara: lunch at the black & white cafe and a lakeside view

Saturday, January 19: After the tour is over, I ask the driver to drop me at the Black & White Cafe near the lakeside so I can eat some lunch. I order the famous Nepali dish I’ve heard all about: daal bhaat.  Many Nepalis eat this as their only meal twice a day, every day of their lives.  It consists of rice, lentils, vegetable curry, some pickled relish.  I will write more details about it in a later post, when I have pictures to accompany the description.  Today, I don’t take any photos of my lunch at the Black & White Cafe… probably because I am too occupied with enjoying every bite!

some fellow diners at the Black & White Cafe

some fellow diners at the Black & White Cafe

the outside of the Black & White Cafe

the outside of the Black & White Cafe

After lunch, I walk along Phewa Lake toward my hotel, so I can relax a bit before my planned afternoon walk along the lake shore.

a little shrine or temple on the lake

a little shrine or temple on the lake

While at this little shrine, I am intercepted by a Tibetan lady who appeals to me to buy some of her jewelry.  She tells me she is a woman without a country, without citizenship.  I feel bad for her struggles.   I look at her jewelry, and if I had liked any of it, I would have bought something.  But I don’t particularly care for anything she has to sell.  With all the people in Nepal who are asking for help in some way, just as in India, I cannot help everyone.  I do try to buy things from locals, but my general rule is to only buy if I really like something.  Otherwise I’d be handing out money every half hour or so, and accumulating things I don’t need or want.  I’m not wealthy and I have to scrimp and save for every vacation.  In so many parts of the world, everyone thinks Westerners have money to throw away.  I wish!!

pretty boats all ajumble in the lake

pretty boats all ajumble in the lake

Phewa Lake

Phewa Lake

the view of Pokhara and the gardens from the Pokhara View Garden Hotel

the view of Pokhara and the gardens from the Pokhara View Garden Hotel

I return to my hotel where I go out on my balcony to search for a view of the Annapurna Range.  This afternoon, the mountains are shrouded in clouds.  I do enjoy a view of the gardens and the town, though, and read a bit of my book, What I Loved,  before I go out for a lovely walk around the lake.

2 comments on “pokhara: lunch at the black & white cafe and a lakeside view

  1. Those boats! I’m sure I’d have trouble saying no to many people – you were smart to stick to a good rule. And I could eat daal bhaat – not twice a day, not every day, but certainly several times a week. I love the first & fourth photos.

    • I love those boats too, Lynn! I love how they’re painted such bright cheery colors! A lot of the buildings in Nepal are like that too. Yes, when traveling in these really poor countries, so many people approach you for handouts or to sell things, you can’t possibly help them all. India is even more “in your face” than Nepal, by far. The daal bhaat was delicious, and I had it several times during my visit to Nepal. But every day? I don’t think so. Thanks so much for your comments! 🙂

Leave a comment